Uncategorized

Welcome!

Hey there!
I’m Lainie, and I’d like to welcome you to my brand new blog. I hope it can be an adventure for us both. Before I go off ranting about all my favorite topics, I’m sure you’d like to know a little bit about the beast behind the madness. So here goes:

I’m from Memphis, Tennessee– born and raised– and I’ve never been to Graceland. I’m told I’m not missing much, though some of you may be entirely offended by that. If so, I apologize.

I just got married in June to the love of my life. He’s pretty great and definitely my soul mate. After a long and
dramatic Nicholas Sparks worthy romance, we have finally made it.
image

He’s even nice enough to help me out with some of my wild DIY projects and sit and throw around ideas with me for hours. And he is from a wonderful place in Mississippi that I hope to make our home someday.

Which brings me to my next point:
No, I do not own a homestead. We live in Jacksonville, Florida. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to! It’s my dream, and his too, I think. If you don’t already know, a homestead loosely defined is a home and a piece of land that you grow or farm on. For our purposes, usually when I talk about homesteading it will be with the ultimate goal of going completely off-grid.

We all know that things have gotten a little out-of-control with our government. To say the least. And especially with our economy. I don’t know about you, but for us, times are tough. And being able to make what you want instead of buying it is a skill I can’t afford not to have.
image

Of all my research on simple living and going off-grid, hardly any of the answers I have found have been simple enough for someone like me, or, bluntly put, pretty enough. If I am going to take the time to build my own stuff it had better be functional AND attractive.

My goal here is to help others learn how to achieve similar goals in an easy way.
Please give me feedback! Comments & emails always welcome. Have you done any DIY (do-it-yourself) projects lately? Have you seen any DIY’s lately that you would like to try but just seem too difficult?

I am ALL about making things simple and easy. Stay tuned for an instructional on my DIY Shabby Chic Nightstands, one of the first projects I did.

Standard

Leave a Reply

