DIY

DIY Rustic Initials

image

Hello lovely friends!

As you might notice over future posts, our house is a work in progress. I mean, for goodness’ sake, we have a guest room sitting around with nothing but a dresser and a rug in it!

However, there are some things that just can’t wait. The empty white wall behind our bed was one of them. I wanted something unique to us as a couple, that still maintained the rustic vibe I want to give off.

When I spied some white wooden letters in Michael’s, (and had my 25% off entire purchase coupon!) I knew just what I was going to do.
BTW: sign up for Michael’s emails. They give awesome coupons every week!

We had some old wood scraps lying around that I wanted to turn into a sign.  For this project, they don’t have to be the same length. Uneven boards add to the “rustic” quality. Our boards were hideous. We even had to pull old nails from them.

image

What You’ll Need
– Scrap wood
– Nails
– Wood stain (I used Minwax’s Special Walnut)
– Paintbrush
-Wooden letters
-Twine
Optional: sandpaper & sanding block
– Burlap, made into a bow
– Hook for hanging

How I did it:

First, I stained all my wood, and sanded my letters in some places to give them a worn quality.

Then, I laid out my boards face down in the order that I wanted.

I went ahead and tied my twine (for hanging) around the top piece of wood, before it was nailed to all the others. Doubling the twine for extra support is a good idea.

With the help of hubby, we put two wood pieces on the back vertically as support and nailed them in. We made ours short enough to support all the pieces but not show on the front. I think it would be lovely to make them longer, so that the supports show and add to the rustic dynamic.

Using a LOT of hot glue, I glued my letters into place.

Once they were dry, I hung my sign on an ugly little hook in the wall and glued my burlap bow to the hook.
If you want you use a big decorative hook, that would be great too, and you could probably glue your bow on before hanging.

Ta-da!
image

image

What do you think?
Stick around for more little projects like this tomorrow!

Standard

Leave a Reply

