Off-Grid

Choosing the Right Power for Your Home

20131107-090141.jpg

Hey there everyone!

Lately I have been doing a lot of thinking about all the electricity my husband and I use every day. I keep thinking that, at the amount of energy we consume every day, we would require a behemoth of a solar panel (probably several), plus some extra form of power like wind or hydro, plus a backup generator.

Looking into all those things, I didn’t find the results very promising. All that stuff gets pricey. And, pretty complicated unless you’re somewhat of an expert (self-made or otherwise), or borderline genius.

As stated before, I am a bit lazy and a big time cheapo. It’s much easier for me to come up with ways to avoid using electricity than for me to figure out how to obtain a lot of electricity.

I started thinking about all the basics that use “the grid” that we personally can’t go without. A stove, drinking water, some sort of refrigeration, a toilet, a sink for washing hands & dishes, and shower/bathtub topped topped the list.

I really like the idea of using a wood-burning cook stove during the cold months to cook on, with the added bonus of heating the house. Of course, unless the cook stove is separate from the main house, you probably don’t want to use it year round. My idea was to use a propane powered stove during warmer months, and cut down on fuel usage by using a pressure cooker frequently. Let’s see how this stacks up against a common electric stove.
20131107-115538.jpg
Typical basic electric stove– $400 + monthly utility bill

20131107-115734.jpg
Propane range with battery start ignition– $450

20131107-115843.jpg
Pressure cooker– $20

20131107-120010.jpg
Wood burning stove w/ 2 spaces for cooking– $380

I don’t know about you, but the few extra hundred dollars it would cost to buy both these kinds of stoves would be payed back many times in a few months simply by not having an outrageous utility bill every month.

Stick around, and soon I’ll talk about alternatives for all the other amenities on my list.
I’m really excited about some of the refrigeration methods I’ve dug up! 😉

Standard

Leave a Reply

